Why Black People Love Paramore

Clarissa Brooks
3 min readJul 31, 2018
Lindsey Brynes/NPR.Org

Most of my memories of music and finding new genres of music at a young age all began on a school bus, in a shared seat. A friend or boy I liked shared an earbud with me and I was sucked into a world of music unknown to me. In this case, it was Emilia Ruiz, one of my closest friends in middle school who introduced me to Rebelde, pozole and a love alternative rock music that clings to me. I found the soundtrack of my childhood with a innocence and fervor that I still hold dearly.

Paramore, the 2004 grammy awarded American rock band from Franklin, Tennessee was the beginning for a lot of Black kids struggling through middle school and suffering the trials of existing as a tween. Members Hayley Williams, Zac Farro, Taylor York and past members gave us the soundtrack to the middle space between youth and adolescence. Black kids like myself who felt too black to go to warped tour but knew every lyric. Through a decade of music and five albums, Paramore was an entry point for many us to be weird, emotional and find the lost roots of rock and alternative music that has always excluded Black folks.

For me, it began a freefall into alternative, rock and emo music that broke me out of the confines of hip-hop and in some ways brought more emotional space than other genres. As a confused, frustrated and quiet 13-year-old, Paramore, Fall Out Boy, Green Day, Blink 182 and Panic…

--

--

Clarissa Brooks

a freedomways movement journalist fellow. writer. community organizer. A lover of all the complicated bits of this world. https://clarissambrooks.contently.com/